Starbucks: The Next Generation?

I have a unique interest in Starbucks.  It’s not the company, the music, the coffee or that it is headquartered here in Seattle that holds my attention.  No, Starbucks interest me as a design firm.  Maybe because I worked there for so long supporting the talented designers who created all those store across the globe.

As a design firm, Starbucks is tasked with the impossible.  Design a place that everyone likes with space for: bric-a-brak, seating, lines, children, drive-thru, laptops plug-ins and all the other stuff stuffed into a Starbucks store.  I can tell you, it is a balancing act the Starbucks does well, at least in my opinion.

So it was with great interest that I read the article “The Next Starbucks” in the July 1st issue of Architect Magazine.  The article is really three design studies imagining the next iteration of the Starbucks brand. 

What I found most interesting about the three studies is that each one cuts away the fluff, letting the coffee and the barista take center stage.  One study, the Drink/Think THIN project, suggest the future of coffee is no more that a simple counter on the street!

You can read the entire article here.

I would love to hear what people have to say about the suggested designs as well as thoughts on how Starbucks looks today.

2 Comments

  1. BaristaJim
    Posted July 15, 2009 at 3:40 pm | Permalink

    That’s really interesting…I’ve noticed that each time I visit a Starbucks that is either completely redesigned or has had major aesthetic work done in it, everything is simpler, cleaner, and more efficient. I believe that setting the emphasis on the baristas, service, and the coffee itself will help to slowly rebuild Starbucks client base and more firmly grasp those who already believe in the company.

  2. Posted July 16, 2009 at 5:36 am | Permalink

    nice blog
    happy to you


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

